//
you're reading...
Methodical Life

Blogging from A to Z: Disappointed…but not surprised…

So yesterday was a voting day in my town, and I got my “I Voted” sticker but it looks like too many others failed to do so. When I walked into the polling place, there were only five people and four of them were poll workers. This around 2pm, so perhaps people showed up to vote around noon…that’s what I hoped. However, when I fed my ballot to the voting machine, there was a number on the small screen.

57

If I read it correctly, it said only there were only 56 votes, and my vote changed it to 57, so far. Late afternoon, and there had only been 57 votes? Mind you, yesterday our city was voting for the next mayor and only 57 people voted by 2pm? Yes, this is a small city and yes, there are a number of other voting places throughout the city, but that number left me feeling disappointed.

I live on the east side of the city and there is so much work that needs to be done (dilapidated buildings, busted up streets, etc). We all know that the voting numbers are low when it’s not a presidential race, but that is so backwards. People have to vote during the local and state elections because that’s where the real change happens. Don’t wait for the presidential election to rush to the polls and then get mad and frustrated when your particular neighborhood is in a crisis. You should get up and vote every chance you get.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z: Disappointed…but not surprised…

  1. It’s so typical. My area is very similar. People are too lazy to vote, but they sure get vocal when things aren’t going right. They’ll blame everyone but themselves and the others like them. There are some radio hosts here in L.A. who say they hope the masses stay away from the polls because that just means more uninformed stupid voters will show up to screw up the election. Maybe they’re right, but more people should get well informed about the issues and then vote to make sure they let their opinions be known.

    Good post!

    Contrary to my usual practice of subscribing to comments, to save time during this early part of the challenge I will not be doing so at this time. If you want to respond to my comment, please email me directly from your email notification for the comment.
    Thanks. And I truly appreciate your efforts.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

    Posted by Arlee Bird | April 6, 2011, 11:26 AM
  2. I agree! People love to complain but can’t be bothered to vote.
    Visiting from the A-Z today…good luck with the challenge!

    Posted by Joyce | April 6, 2011, 4:04 PM

Leave a Reply

Represent

Oh what a day…

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

