//
you're reading...
Methodical Music

Blogging from A to Z: Ocean. Frank Ocean.

Who is Frank Ocean, other than a member of Odd Future/OFWGKTA? Well, according to Complex, Ocean is a 23-year-old singer/songwriter who

has become one of music’s hottest commodities in a matter of weeks

The cause of the hype? Hard work and his album mixtape, nostalgia, ULTRA.

I’ve listened to it for over a month. Whenever start playing it, it stays on a constant loop and not many artists get me to do that. I’m not sure how to classify him; R&B singer doesn’t seem to fit completely, but I think it’s close. So since I think he, and this album, is so great, I figured I’d spread the word, just in case you all hadn’t heard it yet.

I love the entire mixtape, but my favorites are strawberry swing (shout out to Coldplay), we all try, songs for women, lovecrimes, and american wedding (shout out to The Eagles). I absolutely love his take on Coldplay’s Strawberry Swing and he probably won me over as soon as I heard it, since I love Coldplay. And since Hotel California is one of favorite songs in existence, I was happy that he did well with using that one for american wedding.

So click the link below, take a listen, and tell me what you think…

Frank Ocean – nostaglia, ULTRA

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z: Ocean. Frank Ocean.

  1. This reminds me of an album that came out several years back by Cody Chesnutt called The Headphone Masterpiece. It was similar in presentation concept, but also suffered what I see as the problem with this album. On both there are moments of great beauty and absolute musical genius. This guy is definitely highly talented, but why does he have to sink to the moments of sophomoric obscenity. Also I could deal without some of the sound effects and weird effects. I’d love to see this guy put out a well produced album of good music that would be suitable to play at a family gathering without having to skip parts so grandma won’t be offended or chase the kids away when the language sinks to an unsuitable level.

    It’s really good stuff without the things I mentioned above, but is Frank Ocean continues in this vein then give me my Motown and other good ol’ R & B.

    Thanks for sharing this though. I always like to check out new music.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Posted by Arlee Bird | April 28, 2011, 11:54 PM
    • Hi Arlee,

      LOL, yeah this isn’t one you would want to listen to in certain company, so I agree with you about that. For some reason, that language standard these days. When I run into artists who can create great music without including the obscenities, I rejoice. However, with nostalgia, ULTRA I think the good outweighs the bad, so I’m able to look past it :)

      All things considered, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      -bc

      Posted by beautifulcurare | April 29, 2011, 10:44 AM
  2. you’ve made it this far, congratulations! I have an award for you!!

    Posted by Elizabeth Mueller | April 30, 2011, 4:32 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Frank Ocean - Novocane Performance Live | 4UMF = 4UrMediaFix (Media Source) - May 15, 2011

Leave a Reply

Represent

Oh what a day…

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

