//
you're reading...
Methodical Life, Methodical Movies

One of the best contests I’ve ever won: Advance screening of Takers

When i first heard that several of my favorite selections for eye candy would be in one  movie, I knew that I would be sitting in a theater, watching Takers, on its opening weekend. As luck would have it, I won tickets to an advance screening of the movie and was more than ecstatic to attend.

(l to r) Michael Ealy, Chris Brown, Idris Elba, Hayden Christensen and Paul Walker (Photo: Sony Pictures)

Without giving away the details, the movie is about a group of thieves (Idris Elba, Michael Ealy, T.I., Paul Walker, Hayden Christensen, and Chris Brown) ; they are simply the best. They are being searched for by L.A. detectives (played by Matt Dillon and Jay Hernandez). Enter Ghost, played by T.I., who is recently released from prison for being caught during the last heist performed by the crew. He arrives with an opportunity to snatch up the most money they’ve ever taken. They usually wait a year in between heists, but the opportunity expires in several days, meaning the job has to be rushed. Recipe for disaster, right? And the excitement begins. Will they get away with the money? Will the detectives catch them?

*shrug*

It’s not my place to say…

(l to r) Paul Walker, T.I., Michael Ealy, Hayden Christensen and Idris Elba (Photo: Sony Pictures)

But I can tell you that I will be at a movie theater August 27, as originally planned. I loved the movie! And I can say this knowing that I was not blinded by the awesome eye candy (let’s just say that I would birth a nation for Mr. Elba, no shame whatsoever). Now, while I loved the movie, there was a little bit of cheesiness (one group shot of the fellas walking in slow motion was quite enough…more than that and the urge to eye roll becomes strong). But once the movie really got going, I was able to forget about the cheese. T.I. was definitely the funny one in the group; the one-liners were on point. Idris smolders, but that’s no surprise at all. Ealy *sigh* I could hug him for being so awesome; his character had a lot of heart. The same goes for Hayden and Paul. I could hug them all. I’m not a Chris Brown fan (never have been), and even though his character is the “young and dumb one”, I have to say that he has one of THE BEST action sequences in the movie. He is quite memorable, so kudos to him on that.

One of the complaints some people have about movies nowadays is that there is no plot. Movie makers want to throw a bunch of visually stimulating things into a pot and say “Here ya go…” to the public. The camaraderie between the fellas makes you care about and like the thieves. I felt emotionally invested in each character’s life. It’s one of those movies were you’ll root for the thieves, but still feel for the detectives who are trying to bring them down and throw them in jail.

I really want to say more, but I would probably slip up and give away spoilers, so I’ll end by reiterating the fact that I will go to the movies and pay money to see this again. I really enjoyed it and I think you will too, so I suggest you go see it on August 27!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “One of the best contests I’ve ever won: Advance screening of Takers

  1. I’m glad to hear it was good, although I was going to see it regardless. I’m so excited!!!

    Posted by MrsGrapevine | August 27, 2010, 7:22 AM
    • Hi MrsGrapevine,

      It was so good! I’m looking forward to seeing it again this weekend! Trying to decide if I’ll go to the theater tonight or tomorrow…maybe both =)

      Thanks for commenting!

      -bc

      Posted by beautifulcurare | August 27, 2010, 10:18 AM

Leave a Reply

Represent

Oh what a day…

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
