//
you're reading...
Methodical Rants

Methodical Rant: Judgmental much? *raises hand* Yup! And let’s be honest…so are you…

Photo by afsart via Flickr

Definition of judgmental (via The American Heritage Dictionary):

  1. Of, relating to, or dependent on judgment: a judgmental error.
  2. Inclined to make judgments, especially moral or personal ones

Several years ago, one of my closest friends told me that I tend to be judgmental. My feelings were hurt by this. I felt terrible and vowed to change this horrible personality trait. And I gave it a good try, but after some contemplation, I decided being judgmental is completely natural and folks just need to deal with it.

It’s not my intention to be a jerk about this, but I’m just calling it how I see it. Man cheats on wife and he’s called everything but a child of God. Woman sleeps with as many men as she chooses and she’s deemed a “ho”. Child acts out in public and is seen as a “bad a*# kid”. These are just a few of the judgments that come to mind and there are plenty others. Point is, none of us know anything about the background stories of these people. We don’t know any of the possible causes that could have led to what we see and we make a judgment on it anyway. *shrug*

I need this as a t-shirt and a bumper sticker! Sums it up quite nicely, don’t you agree? Just sayin’…

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Methodical Rant: Judgmental much? *raises hand* Yup! And let’s be honest…so are you…

  1. First of all, I did. NOT. know. that. you. had. a. REAL. blog? Why come you didn’t tell me? 😛
    Second, LOVE this post. I’ve been meaning to write one on the notion that judgment and being judgmental is “negative”. Like you said, it’s completely natural – for those of us who have brains with memories.
    Short and to the point, but you added a personal touch to the post to soften the “judgmental” edges.

    My judgment is that this is a good blog and I will be visiting frequently. *bangs gavel*

    Posted by Jara | September 1, 2010, 9:40 AM
    • Hi Jara,

      Yup I have a real blog! I figured out how to “promote” it on Twitter, lol…so now ya know 🙂

      This was something that had irked me for a while, but recently different friend made a comment and I had to do a short post. Being judgmental is simply apart of life and like I said, we all do it. The issue isn’t the judgment but the actions we take based on our judgments. Hmmm…I might be able to do another post based on that…

      Anywho, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you again, lol!

      -bc

      Posted by beautifulcurare | September 1, 2010, 10:29 AM
  2. I love the sculpture by SCAD Professor Andrew Scott that you used to illustrate your post.

    Donna Dilley

    Posted by Donna Dilley | September 29, 2010, 8:04 PM

Leave a Reply

Represent

Oh what a day…

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
