//
you're reading...
Methodical Product Junkie

Methodical Product Junkie Review: Johnson’s Baby Oil Body Wash and Baby Oil Gel with Shea & Cocoa Butter

One of the awesome things about attending a blogger conference is the connections one can make. While at Blogalicious 2010, I signed up to have my picture taken at the Johnson’s Baby Beauty Lounge and left my contact information so my pictures could be emailed to me. When the representative sent my pictures to me, she offered a chance at reviewing some products from the Johnson’s Baby line. While I don’t have any kids, I recently bought some Johnson’s Melt Away Stress Lavender and Chamomile lotion and since I really enjoyed using it I was very interested in seeing how well some other Johnson’s products worked for my skin. The rep sent me a product listing and I chose the Baby Oil Body Wash (original scent was all they had available) and the Baby Oil Gel with Shea & Cocoa Butter.

According to the product fact sheet, the body wash:

  • Cleans and helps hydrate dry skin leaving it feeling baby soft
  • Formulated with JOHNSON’S® Baby Oil to leave skin feeling moisturized all day long
  • Non-greasy, rich, creamy texture
  • Dermatologist and allergy-tested

The only claim that I disagree with is the “rich, creamy texture”; I’ve used plenty of body washes that were creamier and produced a great lather, whether I used a body pouf or exfoliation gloves. The only time I saw a decent lather was when I used a body pouf; since I like using my exfoliation gloves more often than my body pouf, this was a downside to me. That said, the body wash left my skin feeling clean without the uncomfortable tightness that occurs with some body washes. Soft, clean skin was the goal;  so the results outweighed the negative.

As for the baby oil gel, the product fact sheet claimed:

  • Long lasting moisturization enriched with shea butter, known for its skin conditioning properties and cocoa butter, known for its skin nourishing properties.
  • Locks in up to ten times more moisture on wet skin than an ordinary lotion can on dry skin
  • Moisturizes to help soothe skin
  • Dermatologist and allergy-tested

I absolutely loved the baby oil gel! Fresh out of the shower, I smoothed on the gel before towel drying lightly. Throughout the day, I would check my skin and find not a bit of dryness; my skin felt so soft and smooth. By the time night fell, and I would start my nightly beauty ritual (smile), I checked my skin and there was very little dryness and my skin still felt soft. No crocodile dryness!  I imagine if I added the use of a body cream, I wouldn’t have experienced even that small amount of dryness. The only reason I didn’t use lotion of body cream is because I wanted to see what the Oil Body Wash and the Oil Gel duo could do on their own.

Overall, I would use both products, especially the oil gel, again. I thank Johnson’s for giving me a chance to try both products and I hope to do a Johnson’s giveaway in the near future!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Represent

Oh what a day…

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
