//
you're reading...
Methodical Life, Methodical Product Junkie

SWAGG SPONSORED POST: The best gift I ever gave…

SWAGG is a free mobile app (download here) that lets you shop smarter using your mobile phone. Buy, send or swap SWAGG GIFTS and organize your old school plastic gift cards.

For every download of the app between now and Dec. 31, 2010, SWAGG will donate $1 to Stand Up To Cancer (SU2C) , up to $125,000.

Clever Girls Collective and SWAGG are sending a pair of movie fans to the Sundance Film Festival! Download the SWAGG app and then visit the Ultimate SWAGG Getaway Sweepstakes site to enter to win a trip for two to the Sundance Film Festival. Entry deadline is January 3, 2011, 11:59pm, PST.


Photo credit: blue_annap (on flickr)

My mom’s birthday was fast approaching and I had no idea what I should get her. She’s a makeup junkie, like me, so buying her makeup was a trusty option. However, I’d done that before; if I hit a M.A.C. store, I would pick up something for her just because, so it didn’t seem like a really special gift. I considered getting her a gift certificate from Spiegel since she absolutely loves their clothing and accessories. The more I thought about it, though, a gift certificate didn’t seem any more right than a makeup haul, so I had to come up with a better idea, something that would make a bigger impact. We live in a small city, or a big town depending on how you look at it, so gift selection is minimal. I considered treating her to a spa day, but that isn’t a long-lasting gift and I could do that for her at any time. What was I going to do?

As luck would have it, I went shopping with one of my BFFs; we hit the mall and various other stores in the area. She was shopping for things for her home and knew I was still searching for a gift for my mom. I didn’t think I’d find anything so I was tagging along to get out of the house for a few hours. After going through checkout, we left TJ Maxx and walked a few stores down, ending up at a small art gallery. I’d never paid any attention to the place, but we went in because my friend wanted to see if there was anything that would look good in her new place. As we looked around, I saw some interesting pieces and began thinking of how I would want my own home to be decorated. I wondered over to a book that had other paintings that, were not in the gallery, but could be ordered and shipped. I stumbled out of my daydream when I flipped a page and saw the perfect painting, not for me but for my mom.

This painting, “Strut” by Nico, is so much my mother’s style that when I called my friend over to show it to her, I didn’t have to say anything; she looked at and said “That’s the one!” It’s my mom’s style and it is the way she carries herself; this painting is truly my mom’s “Strut”. The associate working in the gallery came over and I told her that I wanted this particular painting. She said that they could order it and asked me to browse the frame I wanted for it. After putting down the deposit, we left the gallery and I felt great. The painting came in, the gallery framed it, and I received the phone call that it was ready for me to pick up. Since it came in before her birthday, I kept it at my grandpa’s house until the big day.

Fast forward to her birthday, I told her that what I bought for her wouldn’t be delivered until after her birthday, due to a delay. She was fine with that, said it was the thought that counted. I told her that I’d make her a special birthday dinner and she said that was perfect. About an hour before left work that day, I picked up the painting from my grandpa’s and took it to the house; arranging it on the mantle so it would be the first thing she saw when she entered the living room.

It worked out perfectly! My mom walked into the living room, carrying some gifts she received from her co-workers, and gave a gasp when she saw the painting on the mantle, she tossed the gift bags on the couch and grinned. She thought it was the most awesome gift I’d ever given; when I saw tears, I knew that this gift was a success. For a woman who does everything she can to help others, it feels wonderful to show her how much I love her. Her smile and happiness is a gift all on its own. While you’re here, please share you best gift-giving moment with others; leave a comment below and tell us your “best gift ever given” story!

Now, before you leave my blog, I want to remind you of the free mobile app, SWAGG, mentioned above. You can be a part of a great cause, Stand Up To Cancer, by simply downloading an app that will help you shop and get rid of plastic gift cards by making them digital. With the holidays in full swing, gift cards are likely stocking stuffers and with SWAGG, there’s no chance misplacing that gift card you received. SWAGG will donate $1 for every download of their app (up to $125,000) to Stand Up To Cancer, an organization that “raises funds to accelerate groundbreaking cancer research that will get new therapies to patients quickly and save lives.” In order to make your download count, you need to get the app before 12/31/10 and after that, make sure you enter the Ultimate SWAGG Getaway Sweepstakes, also mentioned at the beginning of this post! The prize details are as follows:

  • 2 night/3 day stay at Yarrow Hotel in Park City Utah (Jan 21 – Jan 23, 2011)
  • Ground transportation to and from hotel to airport in Park City, Utah
  • Dinner for two at Tao Lounge, including 2 nightclub passes
  • All access to The House of SWAGG Gifting Suite
  • 2 tickets to a movie premiere on Saturday, January 22nd — movie tbd
  • $4,000 value

You could win a trip to Sundance and help raise money for a great cause, just by downloading a cool, new app. Sounds pretty sweet to me…

Learn more about the coolest new app that revolutionizes the whole shopping, gifting, and gift card-organizing experience and Download the SWAGG app to your iPhone or Droid. I was selected for this sponsorship by Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity.

Leave a Reply

Represent

Oh what a day…

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
