//
you're reading...
Methodical News

Blogging from A to Z: Homemade Lunches and Chicago’s Little Village Academy

Photo: Peter Spiro / Istock

While reading today’s headlines, I saw “Cafeteria chaos: School bans lunches from home” on MSNBC‘s website. Apparently the school feels that lunches from home aren’t as nutritious as those provided by the school. According to them, kids are coming to school with “soda and flaming hot chips” for lunch.

If you could see my face after reading that…

While I don’t doubt that some students come to school with lunches that aren’t the best for a growing child, I think that the ban is extreme. I’m sure that just as some students have junk lunches,  some students bring nutritious lunches. Not allowing parents to send their children to school with foods that they’ve prepared seems like it should infringe on some personal rights.

Now, it’s been a while since I’ve had to digest a school lunch, but from what I remember, they weren’t the most appealing meals. And I love vegetables and such; eating healthy isn’t difficult for me, so it’s not like they were serving too many healthy options and I couldn’t cope. The food either resembled that fake plastic food that came with the refrigerator you may have played with as a kid, but half as appetizing:

Or it was a greasy-looking, and funny-smelling, barely edible meal. Once you hit high school you had a better selection and the food looked like food you’d eat at home. Or you could leave campus for lunch. However, until you were able to move beyond elementary, kids were stuck with the stuff you see in the first picture above. Based on my own experience, I find it doubtful that a school will serve nutritious food to children.

I get what the school is trying to do, but I think that they went about it the wrong way. What are your thoughts? Where your school lunches a better and more nutritious lunch than what you brought, or would have brought, from home?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z: Homemade Lunches and Chicago’s Little Village Academy

  1. I rarely ate school lunches when I was a kid and I think I brought some fairly good stuff to eat. I don’t like how the government is trying to intrude on every facet of our lives. We are losing personal accountability and relinquishing our right to decide to allow government to do it for us. What I eat or what my kids eat is my business. And how do we know that the government is giving us real food anyway. It makes me think of the movie Soylent Green–sounds like that’s where we are heading.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

    Posted by Arlee Bird | April 12, 2011, 7:59 PM
    • Hi Arlee,

      That movie sounds familiar…I’ll have to check it out. And you bring up a good point. How DO we know that we’re getting real food? I swear, when I was a kid, the stuff I saw in the cafeteria was quite questionable…

      -bc

      Posted by beautifulcurare | April 13, 2011, 10:05 AM

Leave a Reply

Represent

Oh what a day…

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
